Entry 4

To remind you readers, these blog entry posts are a part of a project for my 9th grade biology class. I am to chose an animal and learn more about it as I learn new things and adapt what I’ve learned, to my animal. The animal I chose is a cheetah, if you go to my first entry I talked about the basic information about the cheetah, in my second entry I talked about symbiotic relationships, food webs and food chain. In my third entry I talked about population and types of strategists. For my fourth and final entry I will be talking about IUCN and raising awareness for my animal.

IUCN stands for International Union of Conservation for Nature. The IUCN keeps track of the natural worlds status and what needs to be done to keep nature safe. There’s a website called IUCN and it tells you if an animal is endangered or extinct, it’s current status. There are currently 7,100 cheetahs left and according to iucnredlist.org the IUCN status for a cheetah is vulnerable and they’re on the red list for threatened species.

The cheetah population is decreasing because of climate change, being hunted and their habitat being destroyed. It’ll be a challenge to stop climate change altogether and stopping their habitat from being destroyed. One of the things we can change is hunting them illegally. As humans, we make choices and those choices often affect others things. When we hunt cheetahs we are slowly murdering an entire species out of existence. Cheetahs are unique and one of the fastest land animals to exist, we can’t let this species disappear and be gone forever. If we have an opportunity to stop this from happening, why don’t we take it?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close